Skip to main content

Clinical Sciences faculty receive prestigious national awards

Drs. Teresa Burns and John Hubbell recognized by AAVC

The American College of Veterinary Clinicians (AAVC) has recognized Dr. John Hubbell with the 2010 Clinical Faculty Achievement Award and Dr. Teresa Burns with the 2010 Large Animal Residency Award. All member institutions of the AAVC are allowed to nominate one resident and one faculty member annually for the awards. It is unusual for both nominees from a single institution to win their respective award.

Dr. Burns was one of the two recipients nationally chosen for the Residency Award, which is based upon level of scholarly productivity and the quality of clinical service and teaching provided at their respective institutions. The correspondence regarding Dr. Burns selection states in part, "It is quite apparent from your curriculum vita and recommendations that you are a most deserving selection for this award since it is an award specifically intended to acknowledge residents who have demonstrated outstanding clinical expertise, scholarship, and potential to contribute to the veterinary profession." The award includes a plaque and a $1,000 check. Dr. Burns is currently a Clinical Instructor in Equine Field Service, and is pursuing her PhD studies involving the role of inflammation in equine metabolic syndrome and associated laminitis. Drs. Catherine Kohn, Phoebe Smith, Jim Belknap and Kate Hayes-Ozello helped prepare the nomination packet.

Dr. Hubbell was recognized with the Clinical Faculty Achievement Award, which is given to a member of the AAVC who, for at least five years, has achieved recognition for his or her efforts on behalf of veterinary medicine. The correspondence regarding Dr. Hubbell's award states that "Dr. Hubbell was selected because of his excellence in academic practice, teaching, research and administration. The award was presented to Dr. Hubbell for his outstanding record of service and contributions to the veterinary profession both nationally and internationally, for which his colleagues will be forever grateful." The award includes a plaque and a $2,500 check. Dr. Hubbell is a professor in the Anesthesiology and Pain Management Service, has served as interim dean of the college on two occasions, and is currently serving as the head of the Equine Service. He also won the OVMA Veterinarian of the Year award in 2009. Drs. Diane Mason (Kansas State University), Rich Bednarski, John Bonagura and Kate Hayes-Ozello assisted with preparation of the nomination package.


About the College of Veterinary Medicine at Ohio State

Founded in 1885, The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine is ranked fifth in the nation and includes more than 1,000 faculty, staff and students in the Departments of Veterinary Biosciences, Veterinary Clinical Sciences, and Veterinary Preventive Medicine. The Veterinary Medical Center is one of the largest specialty referral centers in the world, with more than 35,000 farm, equine, and companion animal patients each year. A nationally-recognized ambulatory practice and teaching unit in Marysville, Ohio provides farm animal experience to every veterinary student, and the Food Animal Health Research Program in Wooster, OH focuses on detection, control, and prevention of disease. Located on the only campus in the country with a comprehensive medical center offering seven health sciences colleges, we admit up to 162 veterinary students per class, and offer a new comprehensive graduate program in Veterinary and Comparative Medicine as well as a unique Master’s degree in Veterinary Public Health, in partnership with the College of Public Health.   


Last updated: 

Friday, May 4, 2012 - 3:18pm