Skip to main content

Theresa W. Fossum, DVM, MS, Ph.D.

Distinguished Alumni Award

Presented June 9, 2007
Oath and Hooding Ceremony
Mershon Auditorium

Theresa W. Fossum, DVM, MfS, Ph. D.

Dr. Theresa W. Fossum graduated from the Washington State University College of Veterinary Medicine in 1982. After completing an internship at Santa Cruz Veterinary Medical Center in 1983, she came to The Ohio State University for a surgery residency and in 1986 received a Master's Degree in Veterinary Anatomy. She became board certified in the American College of Veterinary Surgery (ACVS) in 1987 and joined the faculty of the College of Veterinary Medicine at Texas A&M later that year. In 1992, she completed a PhD in Veterinary Microbiology. Since then she has had a distinguished career and become internationally recognized in the field of veterinary surgery, especially as an authority on small animal thoracic surgery. Dr. Fossum is currently a Professor of Surgery and holds the Tom and Joan Read Chair in Veterinary Surgery at Texas A&M University. She also serves as the Director for Cardiothoracic Surgery and Biomedical Devices in the Michael E. DeBakey Institute at TAMU. In addition she was recently appointed Director of the new Texas Institute for Preclinical Studies, which will promote public-private partnerships to speed the development of medical devices and drugs. Her leadership was integral in conceptualizing and funding this Institute.

Dr. Fossum is the principal investigator of numerous research projects. Her main interests are diseases of the respiratory and cardiovascular system, including cardiopulmonary bypass procedures. She has authored numerous articles on chylothorax and other respiratory and surgical diseases. Dr. Fossum is also the editor of the textbook "Small Animal Surgery," which is now in its third edition and widely accepted as the standard for veterinary students.

In addition to being one of our 2007 Distinguished Alumni Awardees, Dr. Fossum is a previous recipient of the Wiley Distinguished Professor of Veterinary Medicine Award and the Carl J. Norden Distinguished Teacher Award at Texas A&M. In 2004 she received the Texas Society for Biomedical Research Award in recognition and appreciation for her many years of dedicated service to the science, research and medical communities in the State of Texas.